LAHDCK - Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council, Kargil

Though the concept of Hill Council was first fructified in Leh District in 1995 on the pattern of Darjeeling Hill Development Council, it was introduced in Kargil during the year 2003. The then esteemed coalition Govt.; headed by Hon'ble Chief Minister, Mufti Mohammad Sayeed was instrumental in bringing Kargil District in the ambit of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council for the border development of the people of the area. The Hill Council in Kargil came in to existence in July 2003. In the 30 Councilors team, 26 Councilors were elected from the respective constituencies, 4 Councilors were nominated from the Principal Minority and Women folk.

The Hill Council is endeavoring to register prompt monitoring of the developmental works by ensuring transparency and accountability in the district administration. Work plans are being made at the grass root level taking the Councilors, Panches and Sarpanches into confidence and are further reviewed at the Block Headquarters in the presence of the Chief Executive Councilor and Executive Councilors.

The 2nd General Election of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council, Kargil was held in November 2008.

LAHDCK Administration

As per Hill Council norms, the Chief Executive Councilor possess the rank and powers of a Cabinet Minister while as the Executive Councilors possess the rank and status of Deputy Minister. the Deputy Commissioner is also designated as Chief Executive Officer, LAHDC Kargil and control of the overall district administration, execution of works and maintaining Law and Order.

Kargil is a hilly district covering an area of 14,086 Sq. Kms. The total population of the district is 1.19 lakhs as per the census of 2001 and has 129 villages which have been divided into 9 Blocks and 3 Tehsils. For administrative convenience Zanskar and Drass have been termed as a Sub Division.

List of Councilors of LAHDC, Kargil

S.No. Name of the Councilor Name of Constituency Remarks
Kargil Block
1 Akhone Hassan Chuliskamboo Elected
2 Mohd Abass Kargil Town Elected
3 Mohd Hanifa Baroo Elected
4 Liayakat Ali Poyen Elected
5 Kacho Ahmad Ali Khan Yurbaltak Elected
6 Hassan Khan Silmoo Elected
7 Mohd Raza Choskore Elected
Sankoo Block
1 Syed Mujtaba Trespone Elected
2 Sheikh Mohammad Hussain Gund Mangalpor Elected
3 Aga Syed Hassan Saliskote Un-contested
4 Mohd Hussain Lankarchay Elected
5 Aga Syed Abass Thangdumbur (Sankoo) Elected
6 Sheikh Mohd Hussain Thasgam Thuina Elected
7 Mohd Ismail Barsoo Elected
Drass Block
1 Mohd Shafi Ranbirpura Drass Elected
2 Ghulam Rasool Bhimbat Elected
Shakar-Chiktan Block
1 Zakir Hussain Shakar Elected
2 Mohsin Ali Chiktan Elected
3 Mohd Amir Stakchay Khangral Un- Contested
Shargole Block
1 Mohd Ali Shargole Elected
2 Kacho Feroz Ahmed Pashkum Elected
Taisuru Block
1 Syed Abass Taisuru Elected
2 Ghulam Mohd Parkachik Elected
Zanskar Block
1 Tsering Angdus Karsha Elected
2 Skalzang Wangail Padum Elected
3 Stanzin Sonam Cha Elected
Nominated Councilors
1 Punchok Tashi Nominated  
2 Miskeen Tsering Nominated  
3 Razia Banoo Nominated  
4 Fatima Banoo Nominated  
image of DC
Kacho Ahmed Ali Khan
Chairman / Chief Executive Councilor
LAHDC Kargil

image of DC
Mr. Mohammad Amir
Executive Councilor
(Education / Revenue/ PDD/ Forest/ I.T.I)
LAHDC Kargil

image of DC
Aga Syed Hassan Arman
Executive Councilor
(Rural Development / Handloom. / Handicraft / Animal-Sheep Husbandry)
LAHDC Kargil

image of DC
Mr. Mohammad Hussain
Executive Councilor
(Health / Agriculture-Horticulture & Cooperative Department)
LAHDC Kargil

image of DC
Mr. Stanzin Sonam
Executive Councilor
(CAPD / Social Welfare / Industries & Tourism)
LAHDC Kargil

link to DigiLocker link to link link to portal for public grievances link to online telecom consumer compaints