Assembly Constituencies

  • 49 – Kargil
  • 50 – Zanskar

Administratively Kargil is divided into 12 Niabats, namely Drass, Kargil, Shargole, Chiktan, TSG, G.M.Pore, Sankoo, Taisuru, Padum, Lungnaq, Cha and Zangla. It has four Sub-Divisions viz Kargil, Zanskar, Sankoo and Shakar-Chiktan and Seven Tehsils namely, Drass, Kargil, Shargole, Shakar-Chiktan, Sankoo, Taisuru and Zanskar.

With the institution of the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council in Kargil, the administrative set-up has became different as compared to other districts of the State. Hill Council was constituted in Kargil during the year 2003. The district was divided into 26 Council Constituencies. Under a government notification, 4 nominated Councilors were also came into existence in December 2004. Thus the Council has 30 members/councilors out of which 26 members are elected and 4 are nominated.

The Deputy Commissioner Kargil is the administrative head and is also designated as Chief Executive Officer of the Hill Council. He controls the administrative machinery and is responsible for law and order.